February 26, 2014

Citizens appointed to Fill Committee

As published in The Erin Advocate

Representatives from different sides of the debate over placement of fill on Erin lands have been appointed to a committee to help the Town draft a new bylaw.

Revisions to the Site Alteration By-Law will attempt to deal with issues including the conditions on fill permits, the amount that can be placed without a permit, reducing the risk of contaminated fill, compensation for damage to roads by fill haulers, and enforcement to control illegal dumping.

Serving on the committee will be Councillor Deb Callaghan, who has experience in municipal bylaw enforcement, Mayor Lou Maieron (with Councillor John Brennan as alternate), Anthea Larke of Meadowlarke Stables, who has been placing fill on her land as part of a business development, and two members of the Citizens Against Fill Dumping group, Anna Spiteri (with Joe Spiteri as alternate) and Dave Dautovich.

The issues are also being reviewed at the provincial and county levels, and by conservation authorities, which regulate about half of Erin’s territory. Council recently declined to declare a temporary moratorium on placement of fill in the Town, saying it would be ineffective.

Instead, the intent is to create a stricter bylaw, with landowners bearing the cost of increased enforcement and testing.

The committee is to report to council by May 20. They will be assisted by the CAO, Planner, Road Superintendent and By-Law Officer.