June 19, 2013

Tenth Annual Review for Air Cadets

As published in The Erin Advocate

The founder and former Commanding Officer of Erin’s 242 Ross Ferguson Air Cadet Squadron returned on Saturday for their Tenth Annual Ceremonial Review.

Captain (Retired) Keith Smith, former Commanding Officer
of Erin’s 242 Ross Ferguson Squadron, has a word with cadets
as he does his inspection.
Captain (Retired) Keith Smith CD was the reviewing officer for the event at Centre 2000, which included a march past and inspection, a flag party demonstration, a remote control flying demonstration and a series of awards.

The squadron is named in memory of Erin’s Flight Lieutenant Ross Ferguson, who earned the Distinguished Flying Cross in World War Two.

Flight Sergeant Nathan Omardeen, the Flag Party Commander
 for Erin’s Ross Ferguson Air Cadet Squadron, watches the movement of
fellow marchers during their Tenth Annual Ceremonial Review

His grandson Scott Wilson presented the Ross Ferguson Memorial Trophy to FCpl. Ian Crocker. The award recognizes a cadet’s respect, loyalty, leadership, citizenship, dedication, and integrity.
Lac. Aiden Wigfield received the Keith Smith Trophy for the Best All-Round First Year Cadet, from Captain Smith.

Sgt. Daniel Peppler received the Citizenship Award, from Town Councillor John Brennan. FCpl. Katie Dowling received the Ontario Provincial Committee Director’s Award, recognizing her level of enthusiasm.

The Canada Fitness Award went to Cpl. Nathan Kovach, the Best Dressed Cadet was Cpl. Riley Dowling and the Most Improved Cadet was Sgt. Stephen Graydon.

The Best Junior NCM (non-commissioned member) was Sgt. Victoria Bennett and the Best Senior NCM was FSgt. Nathan Omardeen.

The Royal Canadian Legion Medal of Excellence, for exemplary performance over their career, was presented to WO2 Mark Keir by Erin Branch 442 President Rose Ostrander.